Pumpkin Soup Indian Style

Pumpkin Soup Indian Style

Pumpkin Soup Indian Style

Hello World!

Oh, I can still blog! Who would have thought, after (I have to go check) – wait, what, 2 months??? No way! How did that happen? I promise, dear readers (if there are any of you still out there!), that I won’t let my business (which, by the way, is becoming a huge success, thank you for asking) get in the way anymore. I have been cooking and eating delicious food, so blogging will continue.

Delicious food like above, from delicious days, the book. Now, I do have a love affair going on with pumpkins (or squash, or gourds) as you might remember, so this recipe from Nicky’s book (I am friends with a real cookbook author, how cool is that?) was one of the first I tried – aside from the recipes I was lucky enough to receive months earlier to test and have been going back to all summer long. I made a lot of diners here in Rome very happy, I might add.

One of the best aspects of Nicky’s recipes is that they are suitable for seasoned cooks and absolute beginners alike. If you have been in a kitchen for more than just a couple of times, these recipes deliver a great base, a new idea that you can build around and vary according to what you have on hand and still get great results. And if you don’t feel adventurous or this is the first time you are using your kitchen (this book is definitely a good one to start cooking with) just follow the recipe and surprise yourself.

Pumpkin soup Indian style
slightly altered from original recipe in delicious days, the book
serves 4

prep: 10 mins
cook: 20 mins

hokkaido pumpkin, a smallish sized one around 1000g
onion, 1
garlic, 1 clove
ginger, fresh, a 2cm piece
ghee, 2 tbsp
yellow curry paste, 1 tbsp
garam masala spice mix, 1 tbsp
coconut milk, 1 can (400ml)
vegetable broth, 600ml
brown mustard seeds, 2 tbsp

Wash and cut up the pumpkin. Get rid of the seeds and the fibers. If you are using a hokkaido, no need to peel. Cut the pumpkin into chunks. Dice the onion and the garlic, finely mince the ginger.

In a big pot, heat up the ghee. Roast the onion and the garlic, add the ginger, curry paste and the garam masala mix, wait till the aromas are released. Add the chunks of pumpkin, roast for a couple of minutes. Add the coconut milk and the broth. Cook for about 15 minutes, till the pumpkin pieces have become soft. Mash finely with a stick blender, till no chunks are left.

Dry roast the mustards seeds in a pan and decorate the soup in individual bowls with them. Definitely eat with good, heavy, country bread (or naan, if you can lay your hands on some) and drink a full bodied and aromatic white wine with it.

12 Responses

  1. Pumpkin and curry is one of the great combinations of all time! Nice post!

  2. ohhh this looks good! yum :)

  3. I have to try this recipe. It must be delicious.

  4. Ooooh. I love pumpkin and this soup looks simply incredible!

  5. Hey, back again! Great!!!
    The soup is perfect for cold and grey days like today! Thanks!

  6. I’ve never actually had a pumpkin…well…anything really. But that looks fantastic. I love the contrast between the orange of the pumpkin and the darkness of the seeds. This looks and sounds fantastic.

  7. All,
    do really make this soup, it is delicious!

  8. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM!!! YUM!!!.
    We would like to add it to the Ptitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com (more than 30 000 visitors per day)

    To add your site to the Ptitchef family you can use http://www.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Ptitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Octávio
    http://www.petitchef.com

  9. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how
    you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I’ve had a hard time
    clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do take pleasure
    in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Appreciate it!

  10. Just cooked it and its delish!!! Thank you for that recipe 😚

  11. Hey all! That is my personal very first thoughts here and so i just planned to give a fast shout out there and also point out We honestly get pleasure from examining the content articles. Would you recommend any blogs/websites/forums which handle exactly the same subjects? Appreciate it!

  12. It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment