The spice contest

A really quick & dirty post today to fulfill my bet with Katha (whose blog esskultur you should be reading if you speak German).

It all started on twitter – after winning an impromptu “competition” about the number of dried pasta shapes we have in the kitchen (27), I felt too secure and accepted Katha’s dare about the number of spices we each have. What was I thinking? Why didn’t anyone stop me? She is the daughter of a spice dealer!

My number is: 148! Not bad, but short of her winning 167! (Rules were: any single or mixed spices, herbs, etc, but no pastes, no oils)

Short breakup of my spices: 13 different red paprikas/chilies (1 up from the last time I counted), 12 peppers, 12 salts. Things that I assume are rare in other kitchens (maybe even Katha’s?): mentuccia (a Roman mint type), mirto leaves (of the myrte tree from Sardinia), salade du pêcheur (a mix of sea algae from Japan), roses, zahter (like the famous za’atar but not the same) from Turkey, sahlep (salep, not the ready-mix to make the drink that is full of chemicals but the real thing, the milled flour of the root) and damla sakizi (gum mastic). The fresh and good mint and sumak she misses, I have in abundance (the Turkey connection!).

So I bow my head in shame – I have lost! Katha, I’ll be bringing you a good wine to October meeting. And I see the time has finally come to organize my spices in these nice tins that I have ordered!

How many spices do you have?

12 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by vinoroma and vinoroma, vinoroma. vinoroma said: The spice contest: http://wp.me/p1kuy-eo […]

  2. ich freu’ mich auf den wein, liebe hande!

    sehr beeindruckend, deine gewürz-vorräte! und ich sehe ein kleines faible (außer für chili und paprika: du hast gewonnen) für herbaria… zwei brecht-gewürze (so altmodisch!) möchte ich übrigens auch nicht mehr missen: delifrut und picata.

    deine raritäten klingen spannend: myrtenblätter habe ich tatsächlich keine getrockneten (nur den likör aus sardinien, den schon), die algen habe ich ganz zu zählen vergessen (immer nori und kombu zuhause). die rosenblüten habe ich auch vergessen. stehen woanders (sind sogar türkische, wenn ich nicht irre). wofür verwendest du mastix – für süßspeisen? (habe ich auch, aber zum räuchern.)

    was mich noch mehr interessieren würde, wäre das gemeinsame kochen in deiner und meiner küche. mit den jeweiligen specials, die’s nicht so oft wo gibt. (deine raritäten und meine safran-sammlung zum beispiel.)

    fairer, ebenbürtiger “wettkampf” – hat mir spaß gemacht!

  3. ach, das kommt natuerlich wochen zu spaet. anlaesslich meines umzugs nach singapur hab ich zuhause eine gewuerz-und-sonstiges-essen-auktion mit freundinnen veranstaltet und habe bis auf ein paar ganz spezielle (achiote, von ungarischer grossmutter angebauter, selbst sonnengetrockneter und gemahlener paprika, etc) ALLE gewuerze verschenkt. war eine stolze liste, das kann ich sagen! aber gezaehlt hab ich leider nicht

  4. […] nachdem Hande (@vinoroma) und Katharina (@katha_esskultur) gerade auf Twitter und in ihren Blogs (hier und hier) den ultimativen Gewürzschwanzlängenvergleich hinter sich haben, kann ich mit […]

  5. I don’t know what any of that means— I have about 7 though! half are from the vittorio emanuele market… and the other ones I bought at Conad! I know, I know. I do have a basil and a mint plant though :)

  6. Sieht super aus!

    bluewhitestriped@wordpress.com

  7. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I may I wish to counsel you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to learn more things approximately it!

  8. I love your magnetic tins! Where did you get them from?

  9. Hi hande, thanx ı like

  10. LOVE the fabrics you chose! Hmmm .. I know you didn’t ask – but .. the paisley or the darker background I see for the material for the setting square Click http://d2.ae/hool090715

  11. I can totally relate to this post! I like food posts

Leave a comment