Eat Fish Week: Trout Strudel

I will be on an island all week, and a bad conscience has been nagging all the time. Have so much stuff to blog about but so little time. So here you are: my folders give enough material for a whole fish week. You won’t find exact recipes for anything, just an idea of what I threw together. It is meant to inspire you. And if I find a begging comment about some real recipe when I come back, I might think about it!

trout strudel

Let’s get fancy. This is the signature dish of an Austrian restaurant I used to love and have already written about. Used to, because last time we were there with some blogfriends, the experience was less than stellar and I am not very keen on taking my hard earned money there soon. But this dish, it is really good. So I researched and found this recipe online, it was authorized by the cook himself, but it wouldn’t work. Believe me, I am not a novice in the kitchen and I can notice and fix broken recipes, but this one, no. So no recipe here, not even a source, but just an inspiration: Make a strudel, fill it with a farce of mushrooms and a piece of fresh trout fillet. Let me know if you have a great experience!

inner life

Excuse the bad picture, it was sooo late as I was finally done with this un-obeying recipe!

9 Responses

  1. I really like the idea of this. It’s kind of (kind of) like a fish pie but wrapped up all nice and neatly whole. MMMMMM.

  2. hi hande, ja, traurige erinnerungen sind das an letztes jahr… ich hab den strudel auch schon oefters gemacht., direkt aus dem kochbuch und er hat immer funktioniert. ist auch auf dem blog (wahrscheinlich hab ich an dem rezept etwas herumgedoktort… solltest du’s probieren, sag mir ob’s besser geklappt hat!)
    liebe gruesse
    johanna

  3. Jonathan,
    It is really a good idea and when it works (i.e. in the restaurant) tastes great.
    johanna,
    Ich hab es auch bei Dir gesehen. Das was ich gefunden hatte war sehr ähnlich (vom orf o.ä.), ich hatte aber auf jeden Fall mit den Mengen Probleme. Besonders mit dem Strudelteig. Das kann aber auch an mir liegen, ich bin nicht Teig-begabt. Habe nicht geschafft, mit der angegebenen Teig-Platten Anzahl ein Päckchen zu formen (und es zum halten zu bringen), musste viel mehr benutzen und das Endergebnis war dem entsprechend teigig…

  4. I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

    Sophie

  5. wie johanna haben auch wir den strudel nach dem rezept im ersten obauer-kochbuch gemacht (schon vor vielen jahren) und er hat völlig problemlos funktioniert und wunderbar geschmeckt. eigenartig. vielleicht nochmal in ruhe probieren?

  6. katha,
    Sag ich doch, ich bin Teig-behindert! Ich überlasse es lieber den Meistern!

  7. Happy memories – I’d forgotten abotu that strudel until you mentioned it! In a way I was glad I hadn’t been to Obauer before our visit there last summer – I had no expectations at all. For me and Nick it was just such a magical day, driving all the way from Brussels and ending up in beautiful Werfen, our little sunset walk and then meeting you & the Family Pasionate Cook at the hotel. I really need to refresh my memory as to what I had (and, umm, post it!) but my meal was delicious and I have only happy memories of it. I really ought to try this recipe at home as I *love* trout!

  8. Jeanne,
    it really was a very nice evening, getting to know you guys in real made up for the couple of lapses the restaurant allowed itself. And you should recreate the dish, because a) even my version tasted very good and b) I am in the meantime pretty sure that it was all my fault, and not the recipe’s, that I had problems. Everyone who used the recipe says they had no problems. I am challenged!
    How about we meet again in Rome? We have some nice evenings here, too :-)

  9. Hmmm, Rome, don’t tempt me! I adored it when we visited last year and woudl love to go back. You’ll be the first to know ;-)

Leave a Reply

