This Pizza Is Not Conform With My “Rules For a Good Pizza” – But I Love It!

Pizza from Pizzarium in Rome

Rule #1: A good pizza is thin and crisp. This pizza is thick and soft.

Rule #2: A good pizza is baked free form. This pizza is baked in a rectangular black deep pan.

Rule #3: A good pizza is baked in a wood burning stone oven. This pizza is baked in an electrical oven.

Yet, it is one of the best pizze I have ever eaten. I go there at least once a week to get my dose of pizza. In fact, maybe I shouldn’t call it a pizza. The dough is so tasty, it is made with high-quality artisan flour and slowly matured with natural yeast. It is not there just to showcase the ingredients on it (which are always the best quality) but is in itself a dream.

Where to get it? You have to come to Rome and go to Pizzarium. This smallest shop manages to produce the best pizza (and bread! real bread, not the usual Italian airy stuff) in Rome. You will have to eat it standing up (you can have some of the best micro-brew beers of Italy and Europe with it), or take it with you.

Oh, wait, this is the philosophy of the owner (and chef):

Philosophy of Pizzarium

“It cannot be denied that nourishment is of high importance. It is the primary necessity of humans and it shouldn’t be dealt with lightly, given that it represents the biggest coefficient of health, and one of the joys of existence. Science shows that the food prepared in a simple but careful way is the healthiest, since it stimulates the appetite and restores the stomach, which is the most important human organ.”

You gotta love this guy.

7 Responses

  1. Have you already try the 3 most popular pizzerie? Baffetto, il Paino and Montecarlo? My favourite is Baffetto, maybe too turistic but really “romana”

  2. rossdibi, no, still haven’t been in any of them, though I am aware of them all. Still waiting to go to Sforno as well. Till now, we are very happy with Giacomelli for Roman-style pizza, been there around 10 times and never seen any non-Italians there. And for Pinsa we tried La Pratolina, which we didn’t like neither as much as Roman pizza nor Pizzarium.

  3. You know Rome more than me.
    Do you love tea? Maybe in that case I can suggest a wonderful shop…I’m scared. Maybe you know it already

  4. ah, the owner of the teashop is a sommelier like you

  5. rossdibi, you are joking. Of course I don’t know Rome as good as you. I just happened to know something…
    I don’t exactly love tea, but like some lighter teas like green and white. And no, I don’t know any tea shop yet! Please do tell me the name of the shop. And the owner is a sommelier! Maybe we can go there together?

  6. That little shops has all the possible teas. It’s in the city center. Look here: http://www.biblioteq.it/
    Of course we can go together. Just mail me
    The shop is also “famous” for pepper and chocolate. Deliciuous are their almonds with gianduia (a type of chocolate)

  7. Hi. A few weeks before we went to Rome for an extended weekend, we chanced to see on French TV a documentary called “Secret Rome”. “Pizzarium” was in it, we noted down the address, and we went. Whereas we were a bit taken aback by the fact that you have to stand up to eat, the various square pieces of pizza (note I did not write “slices”) we tried were all delicious. We will never forget eating that wonderful food there. As I won’t ever forget the simple “Margarita” pizza I once ate in Napoli.

Leave a Reply

