Easy Chocolate Truffles

Easy Chocolate Truffles 1

easy chocolate truffles

A few months ago I was complaining about the care, work and time making your own chocolate truffles takes, although it is rewarding. In a week full of computer related stress (one hard drive dead, taking a lot of data with itself – I know, I am the only one to blame – one new hard drive infested with a virus within 60 seconds of going online and one whole new computer with the brand new pre-installed Vista on it not wanting to communicate with any other software I need and denying me every little step on my own PC of which I am the administrator) I definitely needed some comfort food, whipped up in a breeze and choc-full-of goodness while being as low carb as possible without sacrificing the taste… So I started daydreaming about ways to simplify my good old truffles. Installing Windows lets you enough time to do that!

I came up with this new technique and presentation of my tried and true recipe. They take only 10 minutes of active “cooking” time and maybe an hour of initial settling in the fridge before they are ready to be devoured. Admittedly, they don’t look as shiny and good as their properly-made cousins and I am afraid they won’t hold for a long time outside of the fridge, but hey, it is the inner-values that count, isn’t it?

easy chocolate truffles
adapted from various resources
makes around 60 truffles
prep & cool: 1 h 15 min

70% chocolate, 400g (the best you can afford)
heavy cream, 200 ml
butter, 40g
flavors to your liking; red or white wine, aged good vinegars like a real balsamico, etc. I used my smoky Turkish pepper for one half and a sauternes vinegar for the other.

In a heavy buttoned pan melt the chocolate (broken or cut into little pieces), the cream and the butter together, on very low heat, stirring occasionally. When completely melted and combined, stir in one or two tbsp of your “flavoring”. Line a shallow and wide container with cling film, pour the chocolate mass in and smooth the surface. Cover with more cling film (it should touch the surface of the chocolate) and put in the fridge or even freezer, for at least half an hour, until the mass is completely set and solid.

Invert the block of truffle mass on a cutting board and cut it into cubes with a heavy and long knife. Dip the knife into lukewarm water between cuts if you have difficulties with sticking chocolate. In a bowl, toss the cubes with some cacao (this will hide the imperfections) and voila, here you have easy but heavenly chocolate truffles. Keep them in the fridge and eat up in a couple of days. But that won’t be a problem, I promise!

Easy Chocolate Truffles 2

6 Responses

  1. Hallo!
    Sorry,hab das Bild nich absichtlich “geklaut” hab das bei Google Bildersuche gefunden.
    ich machs wieder gut :)
    liebe Grüße

  2. Hallo zum 2. mal ;)
    Ich hoffe jetzt ist es in Ordnung!
    liebe Grüße
    Stadtmädel

  3. Wow, these look so good! I sure will try this recipe and give you a note how it went ;-). Thanks for posting this!

  4. Eule,
    thanks for dropping by and I do hope you try these. They are so easy to make, taste heavenly and impress everyone! Will be watching your blog, too, nice clean look you have got there.

  5. sorta looks like turkish delight, except… it’s… well, chocolate :P

  6. Tony,
    you are right! I never realized this, must have been an unconscious thing that I made truffles that look like turkish delight.

Leave a Reply

